Tent City Update: On the Move

“Tent Cities are America’s de facto waiting room for affordable and accessible housing. The idea of someone living in a tent in this country says little about the decisions made by those who dwell within and so much more about our nation’s inability to adequately respond to those in need.” -Neil Donovan, National Coalition for the Homeless.

After a month of being at the Beaman property in Antioch, we’re moving the Tent City residents to a new location. If you can help us move, please meet us THIS SATURDAY, July 3rd at 9am at Tent City’s current location in Antioch (e-mail amoshousemercyfund@gmail.com for directions and to let us know if you’re coming). If you can, bring water and a car/truck/van/bus/trailer. We need all the help we can get, so please bring your friends and their cars, too! We will have the new temporary location secured and available by Saturday.  

 If you can’t come at 9am, we’ll be meeting at Otter Creek Church (409 Franklin Rd, Brentwood, TN 37027) for lunch at 1pm. In the coming weeks, we’ll continue to need assistance with providing meals for the residents, individuals and groups who can stay with the residents as “Inn Keepers,” and drivers who can assist residents with going to housing and medical appointments. Please e-mail us if you are able to help and we will put you to work! If you’d like to provide meals, please e-mail ingrid.mcintyre@gmail.com.

Also, don’t forget to pick up the latest copy of The Contributor which hits the streets this Wednesday for further information and reflections on Tent City.

7 comments

  1. Thank you for your efforts on behalf of the homeless. I hope you got the volunteers you needed on Saturday.

    I love the resurrection icon! Can you tell me more about it? Who did it? Where it is?

    Jim Forest
    (writing from Alkmaar, Holland)

  2. Jim,

    It’s good to hear from you. I hope you and your family are well in Holland. Saturday was wonderful (and hot) and we had a great group of volunteers. We moved several people into housing and a few into hotels, but we now have most of the residents from the camp living in community in an empty parsonage until we can find more permanent land for a new site. It is pretty interesting…

    Yes, I fell in love with that rendention of the resurrection icon when I saw it, too. I came across it on an older post from http://episconixonian.blogspot.com/. From what I can gather, it was painted by Todor Mitrovic in 1997 who currently lectures on iconography and icon-making in Belgrade, Serbia.

    Thanks, also, for your efforts on behalf of peace and nonviolence. We have all been inspired by your work and writings.

    with peace,
    Lindsey

  3. Dear Lindsey,

    >> It’s good to hear from you. I hope you and your family are well in Holland. Saturday was wonderful (and hot) and we had a great group of volunteers. We moved several people into housing and a few into hotels, but we now have most of the residents from the camp living in community in an empty parsonage until we can find more permanent land for a new site. It is pretty interesting…

    I must try to find time to read more of the blog. (I am struggling this month to finish doing a major revision of my biography of Dorothy Day (Love is the Measure), now 25 years old and originally written without benefit of her diaries and letters.)

    I hope to be in Nashville for a couple of days in October — I am due to give a talk — and perhaps can manage to visit. My host is Danny Abbott.

    >> Yes, I fell in love with that rendention of the resurrection icon when I saw it, too. I came across it on an older post from http://episconixonian.blogspot.com/. From what I can gather, it was painted by Todor Mitrovic in 1997 who currently lectures on iconography and icon-making in Belgrade, Serbia.

    I’ve now found other examples of his work. Something very fresh in what he is doing.

    Icons have played a big role in my life — a school of being and seeing.

    In Christ’s peace,

    Jim

    * * *

  4. Jim,

    Looking forward to the revision of Love is the Measure… Day has had a tremendous impact on us.

    I believe that your host Danny writes for the same street paper that we do – The Contributor. Small world. I think he knows my husband Andrew who is the editor. Let us know when you’ll be in town. We’d love to get together. Where will you be speaking when you’re here?

    with peace,
    Lindsey

    1. How can I get in touch with someone about any new tent city in nashville? I am starting a foundation similar to One spark foundation and want to come out in december and have a chili dinner and pass out warm clothes and necessities. I want to help.

      Jessica
      Payitforward@planetmail.net

  5. It’s the same Danny Abbott. It was thanks to him that I became aware of Amos House and this web site. I don’t have details on what I will be doing in Nashville but Danny should be help to fill in the blanks. I hope to meet you!

Leave a Reply

