“The Homeless Psalm”

Here is an amazing re-working of the 23rd Psalm by Lynda Baker who is currently homeless and is a relatively new member of Mercy Community Church in Atlanta. 

“The Homeless Psalm”

The System is my shepherd,
I lack everything that I need.
The System makes me to lie down
On the concrete.
The System tells me I’m not good enough
For its water.
The System slowly destroys my soul.

Yea, though I daily walk through the System’s wastelands,
The System still tries to destroy me.
Their constant hounding and no sleep
Do not comfort me.
The System doesn’t do anything for me,
My cup is surely dry.

Surely hatred and intolerance shall follow me
All the days of my life in the System.
And I shall dwell in the house of lack forever.

4 comments

  1. Painful truth. I can feel the dryness of her discouragement. Thank you for helping me see it from your side.

Leave a Reply

